Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Torque Wrench for changing the wheels...

I have a set of wheels that I use for track and a set I use for street. I figured I'd buy a cordless torque wrench to try to speed up the process of switching them... So I won a used one on ebay, and tried it out... it did nothing on the lugs, in fact I could hold the socket in my hand and give it full power and it just sat there and made a bunch of noise... So I returned it, I bought a brand new, more powerful one and once again, did nothing.... I'm no mechanic, so am I to assume that the cordless torque wrenches just don't have enough power to remove a lug nut?

Re: Torque Wrench for changing the wheels...

I realize that you are looking for mobility but I know of no battery operated impact driver that has the power you need to reliably remove lug nuts; they just don't produce enough torque. Most battery powered impact drivers produce less than 100 ft lbs of torque with a few producing as much as 140 ft lbs whereas many 3/8" drive air impact wrenches will produce closer to 300 ft lbs. My Snap-on 3/8" drive air impact wrench produces 300 ft lbs of torque and will still at times struggle to remove some lug nuts.

I use a manual breaker bar to loosen the lugs, THEN I use an impact tool to complete the process. I always use a manual torque wrench and manually torque each lug tight in the proper pattern and to the correct torque setting.

Breaker bar

speed wrench (looks like an old hand drill)

remove/replace tire

speed wrench

torque wrench to 90 ftlbs

Impact wrenches crack chrome and paint and then you have rusty lug nuts.

Yeah.., use sockets which don't apply point force to edge of lug nut: but IWrench still beats the cr*p out of them.

Quote:
    MMD said:
    torque wrench to 90 ftlbs

Believe proper torque spec is 96 ft lbs for 997 wheels.

I use this one http://tinyurl.com/yr32qf