Crown

Board: Porsche - Boxster Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Help on a used Boxster, beginner here . . .

I am a 65 year old guy -- who wants to find a used Boxster. Been clergy all of career (retired now) and do not have unlimited funds.

Trying to enter the Porsche world.

1) is there a year or model I want to zero IN on?

2) is there a year or model I want to STAY AWAY from?

3) any tips on looking for a used one . . .

Where am I? Would like to stay under $25,000. Color, yellow or red (yellow first).

Repairs -- are these cars repair free -- or will they need a lot of tinkering as they age?

Last question: Automatic (my wife cannot drive a shift), is this a bad decision?

Final: show I post this post somewhere else for a fuller response from other ???

Thanks, Anew

Re: Help on a used Boxster, beginner here . . .

Welcome!
    There is so much to cover; I'll only attempt a partial answer...

First decision is whether to go with a regular Boxster or an S. A lot has been written on this topic...

As a rule with Porsches (and other cars I presume), the newer, the better. 2003 may be your sweet spot. That year brought a bunch of improvements, including a glass rear window, slightly improved motor, etc. It also brought some cosmetic changes I personally don't care for.

The second rule is to find as low mileage a car as you can.

In terms of repairs, nothing is repair free. There are some common bugaboos with these cars. Foremost among them is the motor rear main seal. Here too, you'll find tons written on this topic. It also appears that many 1999 cars had issues with engine castings and engine failures. Other than that, it is the usual wear and tear. Maintenance is relatively expensive on Porsches in general.
    At around 45,000 miles, you will be looking at a brake job (probably including rotors.)
    Rear tires don't last long either, around 20,000 miles. Some people report much less than that, some report more.