Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

997S Toooo Hard to drive??

Im new here and have learned a great deal from your posts. Besides the numerous threads that make the 997 look like a stinker, a twitchy performer, and a shakey car. Ive decided to say f*** all of them and their noise and plunk down my nickle on a new 997S. Itll be a late 06 production car. Anyways my only long term sports car has been my 350Z. I dont mean to compare, but how does it compare to the Z? How does the car handle in high speed straight line performance. In the twisties how does she hold. What can I do now till then to better prepare myself for the experience of a lifetime. I am a good driver but no way a track or autocross star like many of you that I have seen first hand. To be honest Im a little nervous about getting her. I was all gung ho at first, but am questioning wether or not Ill be able to really know and appreciate this car for what it is. The car will be an almost daily driver, and will not see any autocross or road events. All of your knowledge and wisdom is greatly appreciated.

Re: 997S Toooo Hard to drive??

Not many of us know how to drive the car. The car is not easy to drive. You have to learn how to drive it. The Boxster is easy car to drive. By "drive" I mean take car to limits or near limits without messing up; you'd needa track to do that. Uunless you drive like an *******, daily street driving is no problem. Definitely take a Diver Ed class at local Porsche club. They show you how to treat the car on the track.

BTW, most of us just buy the car because we love having the real thing. When you think about it there's no sense having this car, or a few others like it, in the USA with the 55 mph limits.

Just fun owning it, crusing in it and maybe joining and meeting people at Porsche club etc.

Between eligibility periods for speeding tickets, it's like any other nice car 85% of the time.