Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 - Turbo Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: 997 TT NEEDS MORE POWER

Quote:
    nberry said:
    I have no idea whether people drove Porsche's to work 20 years ago but if you have not noticed times have changed. More traffic, higher fuel costs, safety and more powerful high performance engines.
    It would be like taking a 997 to a put-put track. A total waste of resources and fuel.

Well Nick, I had the good fortune (good sense?) to buy a home where my daily drive to work takes me along great sportscar roads. So traffic is not an issue.

Despite today's high gas prices, I frankly doubt that fuel costs me a higher proportion of my disposable income than it did in the past. We've had to live with >3$-a-gallon gas for a long time here in Europe!

Safety? Well, I can understand your concern, you being a Ferrari driver. But as a Porsche driver, I can comfort myself with the knowledge that my car is state-of-the-art in terms of both active and passive safety.

Why should powerful engines cause problems in daily driving? With half-way intelligent use of your right foot, you can have as little power at your disposal as you ever want.

You're making the mistake of trying to apply the rules which govern your own life universally. It doesn't work.

Quote:
    nberry said:
    BTW, regarding the 996 outselling the the 997 I meant as of March 15th 2009 at 2:30;32 seconds pm Pacific time and cars sold to the universe public (including Martians) and not dealers.

So now we know just how seriously we can take any future claims you make relating to Porsche sales prospects. Correct that: We now know just how seriously we can take anything you say.