Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: Do you heel and toe?

You're cool, man. I still love you.

Quote:
    Holminator said:
    Okay dudes. Found it now that my wife has stopped tasking me. Try this (it's a good one): http://www.ferrariclub.com/faq/heeltoe.html. Enjoy!

Thanks for the link

Quote:
    JP66 said:
    Quote:
    Holminator said:
    Okay dudes. Found it now that my wife has stopped tasking me. Try this (it's a good one): http://www.ferrariclub.com/faq/heeltoe.html. Enjoy!

I just tried your link and it said it didn't exist

Hmmm, I just noticed that someone is running a buffer overflow attack from that site now. I'm no Internet expert, but I wonder if that has something to do with the problem you noticed. Here's a cut & paste job:

What is a "heel-toe" downshift?
    "Heel-toeing" is the commonly-used term for matching the speed of the engine to that of the transmission when downshifting.

For example, let's assume that you're in 4th gear at 3,500 RPM and going 60 MPH. Now you want to downshift to 3rd gear. 3rd gear at 60 MPH is probably about 4,500 or 5,000 RPM (these numbers are theoretical). Therefore, in order to make the shift as smooth as possible, you need to "blip" the throttle to 5,000+ RPM right before you engage the clutch in 3rd.

Done properly, this minimizes the weight transfer from the rear to the front of the vehicle since the shift is less abrupt, minimizes driveline strain, maximizes rear wheel grip since the tires don't get a sudden speed change, and minimizes wear on the clutch since the clutch and flywheel are spinning at closer to the same speed. Of course, the laws of physics still apply - don't try popping the clutch into 2nd at 90 MPH, even if the engine "will" rev to 15,000.