Crown

Board: Porsche - Cayman Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Boxster Coupe/Cayman/C7S Gets A 3.4l Engine

Just thought I'd pass on this information. One of the directors of Porsche Club GB has just got back from a factory visit and said that the Boxster engine assembly line had a sign above it that said 2.7l, 3.2l and 3.4l. The 3.4l is obviously going to be for the new coupe.

Re: Boxster Coupe/Cayman/C7S Gets A 3.4l Engine

hmmmm

Boxster 2.7l = 240HP
    Boxster 3.2l = 280HP
    Carrera 3.4l = 300HP
    Carrera 3.6l = 320-325HP

then... Boxster 3.4l = 300-305HP

So that means the Coupe gets 300HP. Not bad

I even heard 320 HP for the Cayman but I hope this isn't true for the sake of the 997 Carrera. Porsche might not realize it yet but the Cayman will heavily damage 997 Carrera and maybe even Carrera S sales.
    In my opinion, the Cayman doesn't make ANY sense but I'm not a marketing pro.
    Or maybe Porsche wants to offer some "base" models (Boxster, Boxster S, Carrera, Carrera S) and more special models like the Cayman, GT3, Turbo, etc. for a different type of customer.

Time will tell but I'm still not convinced that this strategy will help, on the contrary.
    Porsche may not realize it but they whole company still lives from the 911 "myth". If they neglect the 911 or even offer products which compete with it directly, it could mean trouble in paradise.

Quote:
    RC said:
    I even heard 320 HP for the Cayman but I hope this isn't true for the sake of the 997 Carrera. Porsche might not realize it yet but the Cayman will heavily damage 997 Carrera and maybe even Carrera S sales.
    Or maybe Porsche wants to offer some "base" models (Boxster, Boxster S, Carrera, Carrera S) and more special models like the Cayman, GT3, Turbo, etc. for a different type of customer.

Time will tell but I'm still not convinced that this strategy will help, on the contrary.