Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 - Turbo Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Test Drove Turbo - I'm Gettin' One: DONE

Drove my 997S to dealer to test drive used Turbo. Sales guy in car so couldn't pay total attention to car - too much blabbing on both our parts. Also keep in mind I'm an amateur; took a BMW "driver ed" track weekend about a dozen years ago: that's about it for me knowing what I'm talking about, sorry.

First impressions:

Don't get pi**ed at me but I'm soooo glad the 3200-4000 rpm drone of the 997S with stock exhaust is freeking GONE when cruising! That "engineered" sound bugs tha cr*p outta me. Maybe it's a gene that I have; so annoying to me that Porsche would build that "boy racer" sound effect into the 997s car (sorry, I have a pet peeve about that *incessant* needless drone).

Turbo exhaust note is subdued which is absolutely GREAT for me. No annoucing to every quiet household in my neighborhood that I'm goosing the car for a cheap thrill. No lone bicyclist on quiet rural highway hearing a "speeding ahole" coming up behind him and wondering if life really _is_ unfair and he's about to get catapulted into Eternity.

Cornering: the car is hugely more grippy in highway on ramp. Totally different car than my 997S. You can feel the thing grabbing the curve like the tires have claws digging into the ground chasing prey. The car seems to have a monsterous intent in rounding corners with one goal in mind: fast. Nothing is wasted wondering if there's enough "physics" to stay on the asphalt trail.

Lightness? It's great. Got no problem with that contradiction because within a few minutes I realized it's just an illusory sensation since the car's huge grip is actually more stable than the 2wd.