Crown

Board: Other Sports Cars Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: Happy Birthday to Walter

Quote:
    ResB said:
    Quote:
    easy_rider911 said:
    Happy birthday Walter. Wish I could drive even 5% of what he can at 60.

Are you really that bad a driver Easy?

Many Happy returns Walter.

LOL! C'mon mate. I'm a good driver and we all fancy ourselves as good drivers but let's be honest - it's like me comparing myself at tennis against Roger Federer....I've watched the videos and what Walter Rohrl can do is just mindblowing!

Quote:
    964C2 said:
    Quote:
    nberry said:
    Why is he one of the greatest drivers ever? Has he competed at higher racing levels or he is one because he is a Porsche factory driver? I know he was a rally driver and a good one but is that it?

He also had success in Trans Am and IMS GTO (part of the Camel GT series)........

And DTM and LeMans.

Quote:
    Porsche-Jeck said:
    The "legend on wheels" turns 60 today

Totally agree! Where did you get that great photo of WR in the blue 550 Spyder in front of the CGT?

Quote:
    Walter said:
    Quote:
    964C2 said:
    Quote:
    nberry said:
    Why is he one of the greatest drivers ever? Has he competed at higher racing levels or he is one because he is a Porsche factory driver? I know he was a rally driver and a good one but is that it?

He also had success in Trans Am and IMS GTO (part of the Camel GT series)........

And DTM and LeMans.

Hehe, I'm just messin wiv ya.

Quote:
    The Groom said:
    Walter Rörhl was named Rally Driver of the Millenium and All-Time Best Rally Driver by his peers. Niki Lauda calls him "the genius on wheels".

His greatest achievement is undoubtedly his 2nd WRC title in 1982, in which he drove a hopelessly outpowered (270 HP vs 355 HP ) and outhandled (RWD vs AWD) Opel Ascona to victory over the fearsome Audi Quattro armada.