Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 - Turbo Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Long term reliability Porsche V Ferrari

I know there has been a long thread on Ferrari F430 V P Turbo. Nick is in favour of the F and obvious RC and a few others are for P. My question is this, coming from the consensus and general review, it seems to me that P cars offer excellent long term reliability. I have little experience with Ferrari and I know a 00 360 Modena sits in my garage. My neighbour did have a few complains about his gearbox. His car had many problems as he said but of course I wouldn't be able to provide details. This is probably unfair to post on a Porsche forum but I am more for a Porsche 997 then a Ferrari on a few factors. First is relia bility and second is ownership costs and it seems to me P would win out in both cases. I do want one that I can commute to work daily as well as enjoy but would be quite upset if it is in the shop every other month or so. I think the 430 has improved a lot but wondering what inputs are like on the 2 brands. I mean they both make excellent sport mobiles.

Re: Long term reliability Porsche V Ferrari

If you want just 1 car buy a Porsche..
    if you can do all your jobs with a smaller car (which is better in long term reliability than porsche) then buy a F430... Also plz take under consideration how much more money you will loose if you buy a new 997tt now and sell it in 3 years instead of buying a F430...

I've never actually seen a Ferrari used as a daily driver in this part of the world. Whether that's due to reliability or something else I can't say.

On the other hand, there are lots of Porsches (like mine) which are daily cars.