Crown

Forum - Thread

Re: OFFICIAL: New 911 GT3 (991)

Kreso,

two questions in terms of the definition of "sequential manual":

1. will there be a clutch pedal?

2. will they go for gear shift by paddle or by gear level as in older RSR and Cup versions? 

I would probably say it's a compromise (I would assume clutch pedal for first gear - rest just a bigger stick in the middle pushing forward for downshifts and backwards for upshifts)  good for residual values of the 997RS  Not a lot of people will be able to judge until you drove one - but those cars will be hard to test-drive I guess. I would love to test one for sure !

Gauss:

I am by no means an expert when it comes to transmissions, but isn't a sequential gearbox much more delicate, with higher wearout, than a conventional transmission or PDK? What about frequent service intervals ? 

Competition sequential boxes generally have dog-clutches instead of synchroniser rings, so are prone to earlier wear than would be acceptable for road cars. Competition engines and gearboxes have to be stripped down and overhauled regularly anyway, so that isn't a problem in that context. 
    There will be ways around that though for street applications, but maybe with some penalties in terms of complexity, weight, cost, or shift times.  Smiley

--

fritz

Robotised manual like Ferraris used to have would make absolutely no sense at all...either PDk or good old fashioned manual or a proper sequential like on racecars and motorcycles are the only viable options imho

fritz:

Competition sequential boxes generally have dog-clutches instead of synchroniser rings, so are prone to earlier wear than would be acceptable for road cars. Competition engines and gearboxes have to be stripped down and overhauled regularly anyway, so that isn't a problem in that context. 
    There will be ways around that though for street applications, but maybe with some penalties in terms of complexity, weight, cost, or shift times.  Smiley