Crown

Board: Other Sports Cars Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Aston Martin Vantage Roadster... or 997S Cabrio

Cannot access my old nick 993Targa, so here under a new name.

Sold my 993 Targa last October because I wanted a full convertible and also a more modern car with the safety features.

I'm looking for 2-3 year old car and the two candidates are AM Vantage Roadster or 997S Cabrio. On paper the 997 is the better car, but the Zürich area has probably the highest density of Porsche cars especially 997s...

I like the Aston because it's in my eyes the best looking car around (next to the Gallardo) and I love the sound of the V8 engine. It's also not too flashy compared to the Ferrari or Lambos.

I've been driving Porsches for a bit more than 10 years (I'm 40yrs old). Had only positive experiences and love the driving sensation.  Reliabilty and cost of maintenance are also plusses for Porsche.  

I've been reading quite a bit about the AM Vantage and there don't seem to big issues regarding reliability, although service costs seem to be higher. 

But would love to get some input from the experts on the board here.

Cheers

Rob

993Targa Posts: 1061

Re: Aston Martin Vantage Roadster... or 997S Cabrio

the Vantage is amazing. I think you should go for it. I recommend you getting the Manual tranny cause AM's sportronic/f1 is not that great and it will cause  you  a lot of headache.

And yes Zurich does have a lot of Porsches

I have owned both (well 996, but it is the same).

Service costs on the AM are MUCH higher (think 3 times more).

I haven't had big issues except for a tranny problem (bad batch of clutches from the factory).

Sportshift is quirky but very usable, you need to try it before, it is not for everyone, but after two years, no regrets getting it over the manual, especially for a roadster. It takes a while to learn how to use it properly (ie more than a test drive).