Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

What would you do when challenged?

This is no offense to M car drivers but everytime I take my 997 out, there seem to be no shortage of M car drivers (and AMG to a smaller extent) who want to take me on. Even though I am an average P car driver at best I always seem to be able to smoke them. However, there comes a time when I really wish they would leave me alone!

Re: What would you do when challenged?

Best thing to do is:

a) rev your engine as if you are ready for the race - let the light go green, and slowly drift off.

b) stick your head out of the window - and show him your large scale tourist map with a big circle marked around the nearest race track.

As seen in the videos from another thread - we have no chance. I think you are 'racing' against Ricers with M badges stuck on the back of their trunk.

Wave them a friendly and ignore the challenge.

when i drive my M, i go looking for 997s to race

Don't forget lots of "M" cars are actually not the real deal... I've noticed lots of 3-series debadged with only an M badge, probably 318/320 etc with a body-kit. Well you can't stop them or riced up cars from trying to race you, so it's up to you to refrain (if you can).. good luck!

Quote:
    Kevin034 said:

Can't believe you said that.

Anyway you shouldn't have to look far - there's one in your garage isn't there?

I keep in the front of my mind two things:

1. they are just car nuts like I am, they are NOT my adversary or enemy. Probably good guys (or kids) too.

2. They ALSO probably realize they have alot to lose and don't want to f around too much. So I might joust a few seconds just for fun but I never let things get anywhere near out of hand (or have any other motorists around). Stupidity is contagious, I don't to infect the other guy with my own.

Oh, BTW, I'm the guy in the Porsche so I ain't got nuthin' to prove.

Quote:
    MMD said: