Crown

Board: Porsche - Boxster Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: Running-in warrantee issues list

This week, and approaching 2000 Miles, the normal engine/gearbox whine has seemed a little more...well... winey than normal! Anyone know if this is anything to be worried about?

I'm not a techie but the engine is still young and might just "settle" itself.

At 1100 miles my handbrake cable detached, leaving the hand brake ineffective.

mcdelaug

Had a new problem this week.

After starting the car the PSM, ABS and SRS (airbag) lights all came on and stayed on until I got to work (about 15 minutes). Interrogation by PIWIS revealed trouble codes that eventually led to the SRS control module being replaced.

mcdelaug

For the record: My dash vent flaps were fixed at the OPC. I don't want to jinx myself but it looks like the work was done well ... no rattles anywhere.

While the car was there, they also took care of three "workshop" items (no recall problems but little things they have found a better solution for meanwhile or they've seen break in the past).

WS46 - fit seal on left bulk head cover (over pollen filter)
    WS47 - fit washers (?) bolting roof motors
    WS56 - new bolts for front boot lock

Speedo issue - I posted in main index a while back, OPC are replacing the Binacle, on order. Takes about 2 hours under warranty to replace.
    Known issue in 3 987's here. At a speedo reading of 100mph my GPS (TomTom 700) shows actual speed to be 75mph.

Funny thing is odometer seems to be correct

Quote:
    RC said:
    Sports cars are stiff and sporty, this is why they rattle more than other cars, not to talk about squeaking/rattle/etc. noises from the interior.
    I started to "overhear" those noises, maybe because I don't care anymore.
    I never cared about noises and never will. They come and go (after dealer fix) and come again. Don't EVER expect from a Roadster/Cab a noise free environment. You won't get it.