Crown

Board: Ferrari Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: Ferrari becoming "automotive Burberry"... (from evo)

Quote:
    fritz said:
    Quote:
    Jeff (in SF) said:
    Given Ferrari's reputation, I'm surprised that they'd license their name to Acer (a low end computer manufacturer) rather than Apple, IBM, HP or Dell.

I guess that Apple, IBM, HP and Dell would want their products associated with the concepts reliability, durability, and low maintenance, which would rule out Ferrari.

OWN3D

WELL nick,

they handed you your ass here, but you have helped them by acting like a status driven F poseur.

the stradale, enzo and 550 to me are great cars, as are many past F's. for me,
    the 430 is reaching an all bling look, while performing fantastically. but F knows its customer [nick]

in 10 months as an F driver, i put 8900 miles on my CS, and found the group of F DRIVERS who hang out on fchat and rennteam. it is a very small group:
    -chalstrad [peter, spa and CT]
    -tdf360 [gary, N CA]
    -wch [will WA?]
    -brian stradale
    -mr doody
    and a few others out of hundreds of owners who post. many of my friends who drive their P's park their F's.

the problem is separating blatant materialism and showing off from sports cars. every brand plays on some uniqueness, but why do you own your car?

i was pissed at Porsche when the Cayenne came out, but really does it matter what they make as long as they are built and drive like Porsches? exclusivity is an unsophisticated concept required by status seekers, and i have fallen for it sometimes too.