Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Car rolls down driveway, even after left in gear. What gives

I've been driving manual transmissions for 18 years, and have never had this happen. I parked my 997 on my driveway, left it in (third) gear but did not pull the e-brake. After coming back outside I noticed that my car had rolled down the driveway! It's not that steep of a driveway, and thank god no one was hurt.

I always assumed that leaving a car in gear was the preferred method of parking since e-brakes can disengage. Am I wrong? And why would a car left in gear roll backwards down a driveway? The car did not slip out of gear, since it was firmly in third when I went to "rescue" the car.

Any thoughts are welcome!

Re: Wow you are lucky.

That is now the second time I have heard of a person leaving a car in gear and having it roll down.
    The first time was someone in Hollywood Hills that left it in gear without using the e-brake. They came out to find the car flipped over at the bottom of the hill. Amazingly no one or car was struck by the vehicle!

You should always use both. But if given a choice you should use the e-brake. I think you have the logic in reverse on which can pop out.

I always use both. I leave it in gear and before releasing the clutch I pull the e-brake so that the car does not roll its weight onto the transmission loading it. Never had the e-brake disengage and the weather here is not cold enough to freeze the e-brake.

FYI: I have heard of 986 and 996 emergency brake levers which will disengage themselves it they get unintentionally tapped or knocked. Check yours to be sure.

Also the gearshift lever should be placed in 1st or reverse gear!

Could it be that the gear transmission ratio in 3rd is that high, that it doesn't prevent car from rolling at a certain slope? (then 1st would be better)