Crown

Board: Other Sports Cars Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Re: Fatal accident with AUDI R8

Quote:
    svtrader1 said:
    Quote:
    Paralizer said:
    Quote:
    svtrader1 said:
    Quote:
    Crash said:
    This guy would have survived had he worn a seatbelt. Most crashes nowadays are survivable unless coming to a very sudden stop or rolling for a long distance.

When will people learn?

Nonsense and pure speculation on your part. Airbags do a much better job of protecting you from a frontal crash than seatbelts.

Excessive speed will kill you no matter what.

Actually your statement is more the erroneous one. I've been working in emergency services for over 25 years and based on what I see in these pictures this appears to be a very survivable crash, if your wearing a seatbelt. The picture that is most significant is the final one that shows the side view of the drivers area. The drivers area is for the most part intact. The A and B pillars show minimal damage. The roof also maintained its integrity. The drivers seat remained attached to the vehicle and the steering wheel is intact. What can't be seen is the footwell. Based on the front pictures I would presume there might be some intrusion into that area. Damage in that area typically results in fractures to the long bones of the lower extremities. While serious, generally not fatal.

The drivers door of the vehicle is missing. That could be from the accident or from the rescue itself. With that in mind the most probable scenario is that the driver either "pinballed" within the vehicle or was ejected, either of which could be prevented by a seatbelt.