Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

-20mm sports suspension has spoiled me!

I know what I am about to write may rekindle the old debate again on PASM but here is what happened today...

This lunchtime, I organised a little test drive of a 997 C2S (manual, PSE, Sport Chrono, PASM). Don't worry, I'm not planning to make any car changes. I just felt like trying PASM again since I've been driving my -20mm sports suspension for the last 6 months and I thought I would be in a better position to compare my -20mm car with a PASM car.

Good grief! It was awful, absolutely awful. Like driving a different car altogether. I've driven over 5150 miles in my 997 C2S with -20mm sports suspension. I never realised how much that has 'spoiled' me.

It's not so much the ride comfort that horrified me. After all, PASM Normal Mode soaked up all the bumps etc and PASM Sport Mode wasn't that bad in terms of a nice firm ride (but it did feel much too 'bouncy' and remote with no 'give' at all).

BUT the really shocking thing was steering feel. There was NONE. The steering on a PASM car (in both Normal and Sport Modes) felt utterly lifeless, numb and imprecise. There was no feedback to speak of.

It literally felt like a different car.

No wonder some car magazines complain about the 997 steering feel being less than that in the 996.

I stepped back into my -20mm car. OMG what a relief! Such a difference. I drove off and the steering was happily chatting away to me. Wonderful steering feel. The steering reaction to my inputs was instant, razor sharp.