Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

I'm so conflicted (new guy who can't make a decision)

I've spent the past few nights reading through pages and pages of discussion here on the Rennteam.com forums and I must say that I'm extremely impressed by everyone and the overall quality of the posts and discussion here. It's left me quite sure that you folks can help me as I try to decide which (if any) Porsche I should buy for my next car. Like many of you, I've always loved Porsches and I almost feel remiss that I've never owned one.

To set the context, my current car is a 2002 BMW M Roadster. I'm still pretty happy with it, but after five years I've started to get wandering eyes. I'm a low-mileage driver (I work from home) and I autocross (but not competitively). I've owned more than my fair share of cars prior to the M Roadster but the ones that I miss most are the '59 Austin Healey Bugeye Sprite I had in high school and my first gen Mazda Miata. "Two seats and no roof" has been my car-buying guideline for quite a number of years.

I test drove Boxsters and 911s back when I was shopping in 2002 but came away only lukewarm. The 911s didn't appeal to me much (I only drove the coupe) and although I really wanted to want the Boxster I just couldn't come to grips with the fact that it was slower and more expensive than the saturday-night-special M Roadster. I sure did love how it handled, though.

Today the options seem different enough to revisit. I don't find the newer BMW Z4 M Roadster to be tempting at all. Lotus will sell us Yanks an Elise now, which is worth considering. I find the 997 about a hundred times more appealing than the older 996s and Boxsters are almost-but-not-quite as fast as what I'm used to driving -- and I sure remember how great they handle.