Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Ordering a Carrera S ( UK )

I'm new to the world of porsche but I have fallen in love with the 997. Therefore I want one, or at least want to find out more about ordering one...

Used prices of 997's(04,54,05) are round about the exact same as new ones. I assume this is because there is a huge lead time on new orders? if I was to walk into a dealer today with a deposit, when could I expect delivery?

I also heard that some dealers wouldn't even consider taking my order unless I order a whole bunch of optional extras aswell, is this true?

I'm also interested to hear what people are paying insurance wise on their 997s? I'm only 24 and as you can imagine not many people 'quote me happy'

regards

Re: Ordering a Carrera S ( UK )

1. Lead times aren't too long on the 997 now. Phone around a few OPC's and you should be able to get one to your spec within 3/4 months.
    2. I've not heard of dealers not accepting orders if you don't add loads of options. In fact my new Boxster has only Pounds3k of options. If a dealer says that to you, then just walk away, there will be another dealer willing to take your order.
    3. Can't help with the insurance, as my car is on a fleet policy

If you need to worry too much about the insurance, and I'm guessing at 24 you are probably looking at Pounds1,500 - Pounds2,000 + then you are probably stretching your finances too far with buying the car in the first place. In reality I'm probably just envious as I was twice your age before I could afford a Boxster! Welcome to Rennteam, by the way.

Quote:
    dreamcar said: