Crown

Board: Porsche - 911 - 997 Language: English Region: Worldwide Share/Save/Bookmark Close

Forum - Thread

Retro-fit of Sport Chrono on 997 Carrera S ? How ?

Hi Everyone !

Does anyone know what "extra" parts are required (besides the obvious) to retrofit the sport chrono to a 997 ?

Obviously... "Sport" Switch & panel, Chrono Clock on dash....

and a quick "programming exercise" with a PST-2....to enable the option....

BUT ?? Is there a control box or anything else involved ? I can't see that there should be...at least on the Carrera S anyways ?

Anyone have any information ?

Thanks

Ian

Re: Retro-fit of Sport Chrono on 997 Carrera S ? How ?

it's impossible ,imho

Ciao!

errr....hmmm

Actually I don't believe this comes anywhere near to being 'impossible'... but time will tell.

Porsche will eventually offer a retro-fit kit I'm sure !

I'm a design engineer... and have a pretty good idea of whats involved... impossible "definately" does not apply to such simple a problem ! especailly on the Carrera S.... (the 3.6 Carrera without active suspension PASM)is a different story though.

It's only a switch that changes the way the DME control responds to the throttle... The Carrera S already has the active suspension and associated control electronics...

The other features are software changes (via PST-2)to add the "comfort" features.... and the 'chrono' is just a display device ! driven by the main system ! Probably the PCM unit itself !

According to Porsche "all the 'wire tails' are present in this car to add-on electronics etc"

Perhaps some of the more technically minded forum members may care to add their opinions ?

The only unknown is if there is an additional control box required... I think a look at the 997 tech manuals would answer that ?

Anybody have access to the Tech manuals ?

The system in the car would have the "feature" enabled using the PST-2 or other service computer at the dealer !